Rak Buku Femmy

I think I’m drunk!

Posted on: 15 November 2007

Drunk on books, of course! Yesterday and today I’ve received seven books in the mail! Yay! Three mooched books and four ordered from Amazon.

Receiving them and buying them in a store just don’t feel the same, don’t you think? If you buy a book in a store, you’ve already looked at the book, touched it, felt it, carried it to the cashier–you know what you’re gonna get when you pull it out of the shopping bag. But opening the package, taking it out, holding it for the first time, there’s a special sort of excitement in that for me.

I haven’t ordered books in a long time, especially heroic fantasy novels, due to the many, many unread books I have on my shelves, which I feel obligated to finish reading before I buy any more. But my husband encouraged me to buy any books I want from Amazon, so I went ahead and ordered some.

And now I don’t know which one to read first! I’m curious about The Amulet of Samarkand because I’ve read the first few pages on Amazon and it’s hilarious! But The Song of Ice and Fire is one of my favorite series of all time, and I want to read the latest installment, A Feast for Crows. But I want to read Filosofi Kopi, too, because I love Dee’s Supernova series. And then there’s The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency, too; The Sunday Philosophy Club was so funny!

Truly, I’m feeling a little dizzy right now…

5 Tanggapan to "I think I’m drunk!"

Wow..
You are very lucky sis to have such supportive husband :)
Ayo semangat ya,,
You can consider my pick, which is would be
“the Amulet of Samarkand”

Have a great reading time!
:) :) :)

Hehe… udah selesai ya baca semua buku itu…
jadi mau malu :)

:) Belum semua kubaca kok. Stila Aria masih berdiri di rak antrean. And yes, I do have a wonderful husband. I’m thankful for him every day.

Maksudnya ‘mabuk’ gitu? bukannya English-nya intoxicated ya mbak? Maaf, nimbrung. Aku Adrian, baru mau cari2 job translator juga. Dulu mantan translator UN ILO dan USMC. Sempat jadi guru di EF dan LB LIA juga, sempat ngajar di Pare (kampung Inggris) juga, hehehe. Sempat tinggal di US dan beberapa Negara lain juga.

Pakai intoxicated bisa, pakai drunk juga bisa. Coba aja cari “drunk on books” di Google, cukup banyak orang yang menggunakan ungkapan ini, dan ungkapan “drunk on” sesuatu hal yang bukan minuman keras.

Omong-omong, sudah bergabung dengan milis Bahtera? Banyak hal yang bisa diperoleh di sana soal bidang penerjemahan.

Tinggalkan Balasan

Arsip

Ikuti

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Bergabunglah dengan 731 pengikut lainnya.

